The Saskatchewan Book Awards offers 14 annual or semi-annual awards to celebrate, promote and reward Saskatchewan authors and publishers worthy of recognition.

Award winners are determined through a jury process of the highest integrity, by high-calibre jurors who are recognized as leaders with significant expertise in each award. In order to ensure the integrity of its award adjudication process, the staff and board each year recruits members of the writing and publishing community outside Saskatchewan, with one exception, to adjudicate the titles submitted for each award competition and select short-listed and winning titles.

Books submitted for each award category will be sent out to respective jury members in mid-November after the 2023 Call for Submissions closes. Jury members selected for adjudication will have up to 90 days to read titles submitted in their respective award categories and are expected to maintain confidentiality until the awards for each category are announced at the annual award ceremony. The SBA will arrange for jurors to meet by Zoom to select final shortlisted titles for consideration for prizes. Jurors will be able to keep the books reviewed; a small honorarium calculated to the number of books read will be provided.

For more information on the Saskatchewan Book Awards’ Policies and Procedures pertaining to the Jury Selection and Adjudication Processes, pdfclick here.