Saskatchewan Book Awards celebrates, promotes and rewards Saskatchewan authors and publishers worthy of recognition through 14 awards, granted on an annual or semi-annual basis.

Saskatchewan Book Awards is the only provincially-focused book award program and a principal ambassador for Saskatchewan's literary community, which includes more than 300 writers and 75 book publishers. Its solid reputation for celebrating artistic excellence in style is recognized nationally.

  • 2009

    Aboriginal Peoples' Writing and Publishing awards added

  • 2002

    Prix du livre français (offered every second year) added

  • 1999

    Scholarly Writing Award added

  • 1998

    Saskatoon Book Award added

  • 1996

    Publishing in Education Award added

  • 1995

    Fiction, Poetry and Children’s (alternates with Young Adult) awards added

  • 1994

    Organization incorporated as the Saskatchewan Book Awards Inc.
    Non-Fiction Award added

  • 1993

    The Saskatchewan Writers' Guild, SaskBooks (at that time called the Saskatchewan Publishers Group) and the Saskatchewan Library Association establish a provincial writing and publishing awards program. Four awards (Book of the Year Awards, City of Regina Award, Saskatchewan Award, Publisher's Prize) were presented at a gala dinner with Peter Gzowski of CBC Radio as guest speaker.

Office Hours

Monday to Thursday: 1 pm - 5 pm
Fridays by appointment only