2019 August Update

Executive Director Search

The submission of applications for SBA's Executive Director position closed August 21. The Board is currently reviewing applications and developing a shortlist for interviews next week. We hope to make an announcement in mid-September regarding the successful candidate for the position.

Words in the Park

The Saskatchewan Book Awards (SBA), in collaboration with the Saskatchewan Writers Guild, co-hosted the last event in the summer lunch hour series of "Words in the Park" on August 14. Regina authors, Edward Willett, Chelsea Coupal and Mark Cote presented an overview of their current work and read from selected passages. Thank you to our funders and sponsors, the City of Regina, Regina Downtown Business Improvement District, Regina Public Library, Saskatchewan Lotteries and SaskCulture, for making this event accessible to the public!

2020 Call for Submissions - Authors and Publishers (Announcement on September 3, 2019)

The Board is currently reviewing the submission criteria for the book and publishing awards. This year, the call for submissions will be for 13 of 14 award categories. Please note that the Prix du livre francais which is awarded every two years was awarded in 2019; the next one will be in 2021.

Also note that the 2020 Call for Submissions will be posted Tuesday, September 3 and will close November 1, 2019.

Call for SBA Board Members (2019-2020)

The SBA is seeking new noard members for 2019-20. We still have 2 vacancies and if you are interested, please contact the SBA office at 306 569-1585.If no one is available to take your call, please leave your name and contact information and you will be contacted the next day.

Summer Office Hours

The SBA office is open Monday to Friday from 1 pm to 4 pm. However, if you are planning to come by, please call the office at 306 569-1585 to make sure someone is in.

Call for Jurors

Call for Jurors website

Saskatchewan Book Awards is looking for jury members for the 27th Saskatchewan Book Awards. Eligible jury members include authors (of at least 2 published books), publishing professionals, professors, and librarians. Jury members must reside outside of Saskatchewan.

Jury members will read the books submitted in their category, select a shortlist and winning title, and provide comments for the shortlisted titles. Each jury member must have professional experience in the category under consideration and maintain confidentiality throughout the evaluation process. The majority of the work will take place between November 2019 and January 2020, with conference calls to determine the shortlist and winner occurring in January 2020.

If interested, please contact the SBA office at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and include your name, address, phone number, a brief bio, and three possible categories that you would prefer to evaluate. 

The categories include: Book of the Year, Fiction, Poetry, Non-Fiction, Scholarly, Children’s Literature, First Book, Regina, Saskatoon, Publishing, Publishing in Education, Indigenous Peoples’ Writing, and Indigenous Peoples’ Publishing. Please see our website ( for more information.

Congratulations to the 2019 Award Winners!

Hummingbird cover

Winner of the Regina Public Library Book of the Year Award!


SmallThingsEndWorld Cover 

Winner of the Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award!



Winner of the University of Saskatchewan Non-Fiction Award!


Winner of the Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award!


Kisiskaciwan small

Winner of the Rasmussen, Rasmussen and Charowsky Indigenous Peoples' Writing Award!


Crimson small

Winner of the G. Murray and Edna Forbes Young Adult Literature Award!


Peau dours small

Winner of the Prix du livre français!


Thorn Field small

Winner of the City of Regina Book Award!


A Hero for the AmericasHIGH RES

Winner of the Saskatoon Public Library and City of Saskatoon Book Award!


Never Rub Noses with a Narwhal

Winner of the First Book Award! 



Winner of the Jennifer Welsh Scholarly Writing Award!

dissident knowledge cover HIGH RES

Winner of the SaskBooks Publishing in Education Award



Winner of the Saskatoon Public Library Indigenous Peoples' Publishing Award


Antigone Undone BIG WEB

Winner of the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport Publishing Award!



Call for Board Members

Call for Board Members

Saskatchewan Book Awards is seeking to fill three vacancies on the Board of Directors for its AGM in May. Members from Saskatoon are welcome, and would participate in meetings via conference call. The board meets eight times per year, plus committee meetings. Please contact Courtney Bates-Hardy (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., 306-569-1585) for more information. 

Awards Ceremony Tickets Now on Sale!

26th Awards Ceremony

Early bird and student tickets are now on sale for the 26th Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony, and they are selling fast. Tickets are $60 until the end of March. On March 31st, ticket prices go up to $75, while student prices remain at $30 until April 24th. Be sure to get your tickets early! Ticket sales end on April 24th.

Celebrate 26 years of excellence in writing and publishing in Saskatchewan at the 2019 Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony. The evening will be hosted by Victor Sawa, one of Canada's top music conductors, frequently dubbed the "modern renaissance man" for his wide variety of interests and experiencesTerrence Littletent, a World-Renowned hoop dancer as well as an educator, producer and performer, will perform at the ceremony. You’ll also enjoy door prizes, book sales, and a silent auction. Don't miss this fantastic event!

Tickets can be purchased through our website or by sending a cheque to Saskatchewan Book Awards at 315-1102 8th Ave, Regina, SK S4R 1C9.  

RPL Logo
SAB web logo
saskatoon public library
canada councial arts