SK Books and Founding Partners

Saskatchewan Book Awards Strengthens Partnerships with Founders.

REGINA – Beginning with the 2023 awards season, the Saskatchewan Book Awards will be operating in closer connection with its founding partners – SaskBooks, the Saskatchewan Library Association and the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild.

The four organizations have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding to facilitate a greater role for the founding partners in the logistics and operational support of the Saskatchewan Book Awards, which will continue to promote and celebrate Saskatchewan authors and publishers as they have done for three decades. An example of this new agreement is the 2023 awards ceremony, which will take place during the Saskatchewan Library Association’s annual conference.

The volunteer-led Saskatchewan Book Awards Board of Directors will continue to be responsible for overseeing the sponsorship, submissions and independent adjudication processes, to guarantee the integrity and freedom from conflict of interest that was integral when the awards were founded by the partners in 1993. The Board is undergoing some transformation in line with its more focused role.

“As we enter into our 30th anniversary year, these changes will enable us to continue to deliver the high-quality Saskatchewan Book Awards program that we know is important to our literary community and reading public, while ensuring efficiency and sustainability,” said Donna Woloshyn, Chair of the Saskatchewan Book Awards Board of Directors.

“I want to thank our founding partners for coming together to focus on our future, as well as all those who contribute their time and effort to the success of the Saskatchewan Book Awards,” she continued. “We look forward to our next chapter of even stronger connections and increased collaboration.”
The Saskatchewan Book Awards is the only provincially focused book awards program in the province and it is a principal ambassador for Saskatchewan’s literary community.

For more information:
Donna Woloshyn, Chair
Saskatchewan Book Awards

For a pdf copy: SBA_New_Direction_Media_Release_June_24_2022.pdf

EricPeterson VideoCapture

Saskatchewan Book Awards Master of Ceremonies, Eric Peterson!

The Saskatchewan Book Awards thanks actor Eric Peterson for hosting the 2022 SBA Ceremony that took place on Thursday, June 23, 2022 at 7:00 pm. The pride of Indian Head, SK, Peterson brought his acting skills and folksy prairie humour in hosting the one hour ceremony. Thank you for making the 2022 SBA the best ever, Eric!

We would also like to thank His Honour, Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty, for his Greetings from Queen Elizabeth II (Government of Canada) as well as the Honourable Laura Ross, for Greetings on behalf of the Government of Saskatchewan, and Premier Scott Moe.

The SBA would also like thank the Sponsors of our thirteen, and the spokespersons that presented Awards on their behalf.

A final thank you goes to the fine folks at Amplify Digital Marketing Corporation in Regina, SK, that produced the 2022 Online Ceremony!


Office Hours

Monday to Thursday: 1 pm - 5 pm
Fridays by appointment only