We Need Your Feedback!

We would love to hear your thoughts and comments on the 23rd Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony! Your feedback helps us tailor future events to your needs. Please fill out our brief survey here (survey closes June 14): 2016 Saskatchewan Book Awards Survey.

We hope to see you at our upcoming summer events! The Legislative Library will be hosting a winners' reading on June 15, and we're looking forward to participating in SWG's Words in the Park and the Festival of Words in July.

SBA Reading at the 2

Congratulations to the 2016 Book Awards Winners!


Awards for Writers

University of Regina Book of the Year Award
A Beauty by Connie Gault (McClelland & Stewart)

Rasmussen, Rasmussen and Charowsky Aboriginal Peoples' Writing Award
nakamowin'sa for the seasons by Rita Bouvier (Thistledown Press)

Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award
A Beauty by Connie Gault (McClelland & Stewart)

O'Reilly Insurance and The Co-operators First Book Award
Hacker Packer by Cassidy McFadzean (McClelland & Stewart)

University of Saskatchewan Non-Fiction Award
#Idlenomore and the Remaking of Canada by Ken Coates (University of Regina Press)

Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award
Bedlam Cowslip by Jeanette Lynes (Wolsak and Wynn)

City of Regina Book Award
Hacker Packer by Cassidy McFadzean (McClelland & Stewart)

City of Saskatoon and Public Library Saskatoon Book Award
The Afterlife of Birds by Elizabeth Philips (Freehand Books)

University of Regina Arts and Luther College Award for Scholarly Writing
The Decolonizing Poetics of Indigenous Literatures by Mareike Neuhaus (University of Regina Press)

SaskEnergy Children's Literature Award
My First Métis Lobstick by Leah Marie Dorion (Gabriel Dumont Institute Press)

Awards for Publishers

University of Regina Faculty of Education and Campion College Award for Publishing in Education
University of Regina Press for Children of the Broken Treaty by Charlie Angus

Regina Public Library Aboriginal Peoples' Publishing Award
Purich Publishing for Nationhood Interrupted by Sylvia McAdam

Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport Publishing Award
University of Regina Press for Children of the Broken Treaty by Charlie Angus

Be Our Guest!

Tickets on sale for the 2016 Saskatchewan Book Awards

As of April 1st our early bird prices are no longer available, but luckily tickets for the 2016 Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony can still be purchased until April 27th!

We are thrilled to announce that Muslims for Peace and Justice in Saskatchewan is the new sponsor for the 2016 Fiction Award! We are so grateful to have the support of yet another incredible Saskatchewan-based organization.

McNally Robinson Shortlist Readings 1

Join us for the second Shortlist Reading tonight at McNally Robinson in Saskatoon! The third Shortlist Reading is on Friday, April 15!

writes of spring

Sask Book Awards is pleased to partner with the Regina Public Library on their Readers' and Writers' Summit, April 28-May 2! Register on their website.

See our full newsletter here or sign up to receive our monthly newsletter!

Andino Suns to perform at the 2016 Awards Ceremony!

andino suns railroad

SBA is very excited to announce that three members of Andino Suns will perform at the 23rd Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony. Andrés Dávalos, Andrés Palma, and Cristian Moya will take the stage during the intermission. Andino Suns is a multi-instrumental modern Andean party music group based out of Regina, Saskatchewan. The group has played their combination of traditional sounds from the Andes Mountains and modern Latin rhythms throughout the country at events such as JUNOfest, Ness Creek Music Festival, Sasktel Jazz Festival, and Regina Folk Festival in Saskatchewan; Festival du Bout du Monde, and Festival des Traditions du Monde in Quebec; and Cold Snap Festival in British Columbia.

With live Andean music, a delicious prairie buffet, cash bar, and talented writers and publishers from across the province, the Awards Ceremony is not a show to be missed!

Tickets can be purchased for early bird prices here via Paypal until April 1st. Our early bird prices are: $50/ticket, $350/table of 8, or $450/table of 10. After April 1st, tickets will be available for $60/ticket, $420/table of 8, or $540/table of 10. Payments by cheque can be sent to 315-1102 8th Ave, Regina, SK S4R 1C9.

We look forward to celebrating with you!

Shortlist Clarification

SBA would like to clarify who is shortlisted for Honouring the Buffalo by Ray Lavallee and Judith Silverthorne, illustrated by Mike Keepness. Ray Lavallee is shortlisted for the Aboriginal Peoples' Writing Award, while both Ray Lavallee and Judith Silverthorne are shortlisted for the Children's Literature Award, and Your Nickel's Worth Publishing is shortlisted for the Aboriginal Peoples' Publishing Award. The shortlist now reflects these distinctions. Please contact our office at 306-569-1585 if you have any questions.

RPL Logo
SAB web logo